blog

Revit Cloud Worksharing is a design tool that allows group members to work on the same Revit model at the same time.

Each user works on their local replica and saves their changes to the master version of the project, which may be saved on a local server, Revit Server, or in the cloud using BIM 360 Design (see About Revit Cloud Worksharing).

 In this post, we’ll go over essential words, how to enable work sharing to collaborate on a model stored in BIM Collaborate Pro, how to install worksets, and how to synchronize your work with the necessary model.

Revit Cloud Worksharing Key features

The following characteristics will assist you to apprehend how constructors, engineers, and architects use work sharing.

Workshared challenge

 A challenge that numerous group participants want to collaborate on simultaneously.

 Central version

 The central project version incorporates all of the contributions from all of the group participants.

Local version

A copy of the project version resides on the computer of the group member who is working on the version.

Worksets

 Collections of constructing factors in a work shared project.

Purge and Audit


It is constantly a good practice to maintain your version(s) as smooth as possible, so run everyday purges to your software to get rid of unused files that you don’t need. Materials do now no longer purge the primary time round so run the purge 3 times.

You would possibly need to apply a third-party add-in or Dynamo to assist with this audit. Run everyday audits as this may assist preserve the health of your Revit version. The audit will test and locate troubles and connect the corrupt factors in the version.

As a good practice, we recommend version Audits be run every week.

Enable Worksharing

Enable work sharing to create an imperative version of your project

1. In Revit, start a new version report or open an existing one.

2. In the toolbar, go to the Collaborate tab, then to the Manage Collaboration panel, and finally to Collaborate.

3. In the Worksharing window, select Save the version and proceed.

4. The Save As dialog box opens. To sell your version to BIM 360, choose Cancel.

 5. Select Save As > Cloud Model from the File menu.

6. Launch BIM Collaborate Pro > Select the project to which you want to submit your version, browse to the preferred project folder, name the file, and click Save. This will upload the version to the cloud as an urgent. Other challenge participants may have gained access to this report to open and update it. All changes are saved and restored to that report in the cloud. The neighborhood report will still be saved on your computer.

7. Your version is saved in the cloud on your BIM 360 challenge. Close the window. Multiple users can now work on the version at the same time. See Best Practices: Pleasant Experience for more information. Working on a Group Project

8. Navigate to the Collaborate tab, then to the Manage Collaboration panel, then to Worksets.

9. In the Enable Worksharing window, choose the preferred options and click Enable.

 10. Revit will generate two generic worksets by default. (See Default Worksets and The Worksets Dialog for more information.)

Synchronize area changes with the critical version.

  1. In the ribbon, navigate to the Collaborate tab > Synchronize panel > Synchronize with Central drop-down > Synchronize and Modify Settings to access unique synchronization options.
  2. In the Synchronize with Central window, choose the worksets and factors you want to assign to various clients.
  3. Press the OK button. Your neighborhood replica is also updated with the most recent changes that other group members have saved to the critical version.

To sum up, Revit Cloud Worksharing facilitates collaboration on Revit models, resulting in shorter turnaround times and a more effective project process. You may construct models in the cloud collectively, consolidate all project design data, and increase communication and cooperation throughout the team.